Cat Power tour includes Ace Theatre stop; new album in October

Cat Power press mainbar

It’s a good day for those of us who have been waiting to hear news of a new Cat Power record and tour.

The acclaimed singer-songwriter will finally release a new record this October. Cat Power will also make a pit stop Wednesday, November 21 at the Theatre at the Ace Hotel as part of a winter tour.

It’s been six years since Chan Marshall last released an album, 2012’s Sun. That record was a big departure from her usual sound as she opted for more electronic and synth-based sounds. It wasn’t as well received as previous works of hers, but I really appreciated the risks she took on the record and dug it.

That said, the new record Wanderer (out Oct. 5 via Domino) sounds as if it’s Cat Power getting back to her old sound. The video trailer that accompanied the announcement features a clip from the title track and it sounds like the Cat Power of old. Give it a listen below:

The album encompasses “my journey so far,” says Marshall. “The course my life has taken in this journey – going from town to town, with my guitar, telling my tale; with reverence to the people who did this generations before me. Folk singers, blues singers, and everything in between. They were all wanderers, and I am lucky to be among them.”

Can’t wait for November? Good news — Cat Power is playing a free show Saturday, August 4 as part of the Marina del Rey summer concert series at Burton Chase Park. Find all the information here.

Tickets to Cat Power’s show at the Theatre at the Ace Hotel go on sale Friday, July 20 at 10 AM Pacific Time and are priced from $38.50 to $48.50. You can pre-order the album here.

BUY TICKETS TO SEE CAT POWER AT THEATRE AT THE ACE ON NOVEMBER 21

Cat Power Tour Dates
Sat Aug 4 – Marina del Rey, CA @ Burton Chase Park
Sat Sept 15
 – Chicago, IL @ Riot Fest
Tues Sept 25 – Berkeley, CA @ The Greek Theatre *
Thurs Sept 27 – Philadelphia, PA @ Mann Center for the Performing Arts *
Fri Sept 28 – Columbia, MD @ Merriweather Post Pavilion *
Sun Sept 30 – New York, NY @ Forest Hills Stadium ^
Fri Oct 5 – Boston, MA @ Paradise Rock Club
Sat Oct 6 – South Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground
Mon Oct 8 – Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theatre
Tues Oct 9 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall
Thurs Oct 11 – Cleveland, OH  @ Agora Theater
Fri Oct 12 – Louisville, KY @ Headliners Music Hall
Sat Oct 13 – Atlanta, GA @ Center Stage
Tues Oct 23 – London, UK @ Roundhouse
Thurs Oct 25 – Paris, FR @ Le Trianon
Fri Oct 26 – Brussels, BE @ Ancienne Belgique
Sun Oct 28 – Berlin, GE @ Astra
Mon Oct 29 – Zurich, SW @ X-Tra
Tues Oct 30 – Lausanne, SW @ Les Docks
Thurs Nov 1 – Barcelona, SP @ Razzamatazz
Fri Nov 2 – Madrid, SP @ Circo Price
Mon Nov 5 – Bologna, IT @ Estragon
Tues Nov 6 – Milan, IT @ Alcatraz
Sat Nov 17 – Seattle, WA @ The Showbox
Sun Nov 18 – Portland, OR @ Roseland Theater
Wed Nov 21 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Theatre at Ace Hotel
Fri Nov 23 – Santa Ana, CA @ The Observatory OC
Sat Nov 24 – San Diego, CA @ The Observatory North Park
Sun Nov 25 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Van Buren
Tues Nov 27 – Austin, TX @ Emo’s
Wed Nov 28 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall
Thurs Nov 29 – Dallas, TX @ Granada Theater
Wed Dec 19 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr. Smalls Theatre

* with The National
^ with The National, Future Islands, U.S. Girls & Bully