Charlotte OC shares new song, debut album to drop in March

charlotte oc

One of my favorite up-and-coming singer-songwriters, British product Charlotte OC, will release her debut album this March. Ahead of the release, she’s shared a brilliant new song with us.

Titled “Medicine Man,” Charlotte OC’s signature powerful vocals explode over a down-tempo beat. The song sounds like it could have been written for brother-sister duo BROODS, though Charlotte OC’s vocals take a deeper tone than those of BROODS singer Georgia Nott.

The debut album is called Careless People and will be released March 31 via Harvest Records. I first caught Charlotte OC in 2015 at the always awesome free Monday night show School Night at Bardot and was so impressed I caught her the following night in town. I saw her at SXSW later that year and also in a church in Koreatown that same year. I’ve been dying to see her in person again since she’s armed herself with a bunch of new songs after blowing me away with her 2013 EP Colour My Heart. She will make her U.S. television debut next Wednesday, February 15, on NBC’s Late Night with Seth Myers, so you can see for yourself just how haunting of a performance she can deliver.

“Medicine Man” is the third single from the album we’ve been able to hear. The acoustic-driven tune “Blackout” and my personal favorite “Darkest Hour” (which she will perform on Late Night) were the first to come, and all three tracks make me believe she might have one of the year’s best debut albums on her hands. The album was recorded here in Los Angeles — at Hollywood’s Sunset Sound with producer Tim Anderson (Solange, Halsey).

“The album is a collection of songs that tells the story of how other people’s recklessness and careless behaviour can hurt and affect others,” Charlotte OC said in a press release announcing the album. “It’s also about me being careless and moments where I probably should have cared less while finding out what I actually cared about.”

As soon as Charlotte OC has any dates in Los Angeles, we will let you know — and we expect to see you there.

1.      Blackout
2.      Darkest Hour
3.      Medicine Man
4.      River
5.      Shell
6.      Choice
7.      Running Back To You
8.      Higher
9.      I Want Your Love
10.   Where It Stays
11.   In Paris

charlotte oc careless peoplee