Coachella 2017 lineup gets Skepta, other additions

The Coachella 2017 lineup poster got some additions and subtractions outside of the well-publicized Beyonce for Lady Gaga swap that occurred.

The biggest addition to this year’s lineup is Skepta, who is making up for the fact that visa issues denied his inclusion on last year’s festival as billed. The grime MC’s career has only continued to blossom since last year, earning the highly-touted Mercury Prize for his record Konnichiwa. Skepta will also play a date at the Fonda Theatre on Monday, April 17. Skepta will play both Sundays of Coachella this year. Listen to Skepta’s track “No Security” for a preview of what to expect:

Also added to Friday’s lineup is rapper D.R.A.M. His 2016 debut record Big Baby D.R.A.M. peaked at No. 19 on the Billboard 200 thanks to the hit single “Broccoli.” Shannon & The Clams have also been added to Friday’s bill. The Oakland-based four-piece brings elements of doo-wop along and melds it with elements of surf and garage rock to a pretty satisfying result. Dudu Tassa & the Kuwaitis are another act that was added to the bottom few lines of Friday’s bill. I’m not familiar with his work but he’s an Israeli singer-songwriter.

Four other acts were added to the very bottom line for Friday: Surfbort, Diamante Electrico, Tall Juan, and The Paranoyds. Surfbort appears to be a New York-based punk band. Diamante Electrico are a three-piece Colombian rock band, self-described as “a fusion of Green Day and Muse, with a twist of Led Zeppelin.” Tall Juan is an Argentinian-born/New York-based musician that is self-described as Latin Elvis inspired by the Ramones. The Paranoyds are an LA-based lo-fi indie band that’s become pretty popular on the local circuit.

Surf Curse are a beach-pop band that has been added to Saturday’s lineup. Other additions made to Saturday’s bottom line are Downtown Boys, Slow Hollows, Thee Commons, Las Ligas Menores, and QUITAPENAS. Downtown Boys are a punk band from Providence. Slow Hollows are an indie-rock four-piece from the same Danger Collective roster as Surf Curse. Thee Commons are a punk band from the Burger Records roster. Las Ligas Menoras are an Argentinian indie-rock band with a heavily female-led lineup. QUITAPENAS is an Afro-Latin inspired band that recorded their latest record in Glendale.

Since the original lineup came out,┬ásinger-songwriter Declan McKenna and R&B act Moss Kena have fallen off Saturday’s bill.

Added to Sunday’s lineup is old-school punk rockers T.S.O.L. They’re listed on Sunday’s poster twice for some reason at the moment. King Sunny Ade has fallen off Sunday’s lineup since its first announcement.

So not including the Beyonce-for-Gaga switch, that’s 15 additions made to the lineup with three names having fallen off the bill. That brings the total artist count to 165 for Coachella 2017.

View the updated Coachella 2017 lineup poster below!

coachella 2017 lineup