The Decemberists brood at The Wiltern

Decemberists Wiltern 2022 AK mainbar

Indie folk rock band The Decemberists played The Wiltern on Tuesday August 9th with Jake Xerxes Fussell. The Decemberists formed in Portland, OR and 2020 marked the groups 20th anniversary. The group is still ⅘ original members with lead vocalist/ rhythm guitarist Colin Meloy, lead guitarist Chris Funk, bassist Nate Query, and keyboardist Jenny Conlee. Drummer John Moen joined the group in 2005 replacing their second drummer Rachel Blumberg. The Decemberists first album Castaways and Cutouts celebrates 20 years this year. The group had a number one album in 2011 with The King is Dead followed by What a Terrible World, What a Beautiful World in 2015 which hit number seven. The groups most recent release was I’ll Be Your Girl (2018) which is their 8th album. The Decemberists also have 11 EPs two which are live and also two live albums. The group also released over 20 singles, two which hit number one on the Billboard U.S. Adult Album Alternative chart. 

The Decemberists played a 20-song set starting with Echo & The Bunnymen’s Bring on the Dancing Horses.” Their set included their biggest hits like “Severed,” “Down By the Water,” and 16 Military Wives.” The three song encore was “William Fitzwilliam,” “A Beginning Song,” and “Sons & Daughters.”

Words and photos by Alex Kluft



  1. Bring On the Dancing Horses
    (Echo & the Bunnymen cover)
  2. The Legionnaire’s Lament
  3. June Hymn

Main Set:

  1. July, July!
  2. Rox in the Box
  3. Sucker’s Prayer
  4. The Wrong Year
  5. The Engine Driver
  6. The Wanting Comes in Waves / Repaid
  7. The Sporting Life
  8. Burial Ground
  9. Severed
  10. Calamity Song
    (with ‘Hank, Eat Your Oatmeal’)
  11. The Crane Wife 1 & 2
  12. Down by the Water
  13. 16 Military Wives
  14. California One / Youth and Beauty Brigade


  1. William Fitzwilliam
  2. A Beginning Song
  3. Sons & Daughters